Mon, Jun 07 | Totowa

ADULT BOOK CLUB June

Our book pick for June is a historical novel called "Libertie," written by Kaitlyn Greenidge, and inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail.
Registration is Closed
ADULT BOOK CLUB June

Time & Location

Jun 07, 2:00 PM
Totowa, 537 Totowa Rd, Totowa, NJ 07512, USA

About The Event

Our book pick for June is “Libertie,” a historical novel by Kaitlyn Greenidge.

“Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother's choices and is hungry for something else-is there really only one way to have an autonomous life? And she is constantly reminded that, unlike her mother who can pass, Libertie has skin that is too dark. When a young man from Haiti proposes to Libertie and promises she will be his equal on the island, she accepts, only to discover that she is still subordinate to him and all men. As she tries to parse what freedom actually means for a Black woman, Libertie struggles with where she might find it-for herself and for generations to come.

“Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge's new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi.”

Copies of this novel are now available for borrowing at the Totowa Library!

Masks are required and social distancing safety measures will be in place for the discussion.

You can also read “Libertie” instantly as an ebook on Hoopla!

https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13571278

Or listen to the audiobook on Hoopla here:

https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13611928

Registration is Closed

Share This Event